Everything Flows Onward

finding my dharma. living my dharma.

Vegan MoFo: I’ve got the munchies October 8, 2009

Filed under: vegan,vegan mofo — Jenny @ 12:01 am
Tags: ,

You know those times that you’re just hanging out at home, watching a movie or lazing around on the interwebz and suddenly it hits you…

SNACK. ATTACK.

All you want to do is munch and munch and munch. Hey- I’m vegan… I’m not dead. It happens to me, it’s safe to say, a couple times a week (and depending upon the week… it might even be a daily basis…). And just because I’m vegan doesn’t mean that the things I could potentially snack on are healthy for me either… OREOS are vegan, for pete’s sake! So you see, I still have to make the right choices too. Now, in today’s edition, I thought I’d share with you my favorite healthy vegan snacks.

First and foremost, allow me to pledge my undying devotion to the Larabar. These things are delicious and a wonderful healthy boost to your day. I, myself, enjoy one on my way to work in the mornings. They have so many varieties it’s almost overwhelming and I can honestly say that there isn’t one that I don’t like (I may just like some less than others.) My hands down favorites include Coconut Creme Pie, Cashew Cookie, Cocoa Molé and Peanut Butter Cookie. I can’t say that I”ve seen one that was less than 70% raw, they’re all vegan, kosher, unprocessed, non GMO and all that good stuff. They’re great sources of fiber and Omega 3 & 6 Fatty Acids. Plus… they are filling! If you’re new to veganism, I would highly recommend you keep them stocked at your house at all times. You can find them at most major groceries, definitely at health food stores and the most extensive collections I’ve ever seen are at Whole Foods Markets.

Next up for yummy snacks I keep on hand is fruit and veggies. If I’m in one of those moods where my hand might never stop dipping into that bag of chips, then I go the healthier route by preparing some fruit or veggies. I’ll cut up an apple, peel an orange, or cut any other kind of fruit into pieces so that if I’m going to snack mindlessly (which I know is not the best way to snack, but hey! it happens!), at least I’m snacking on something nutrient packed. My roommate and I are also big fans of roasting veggies or boiling okra or something like that for snacks.

My wonderful twitter friend @gomelissago once shared one of her favorite snacks that is super duper easy to make: drain and rinse a can of chick peas, coat them in olive oil, nooch and spices of your choice, then bake them in the oven, at about 400F until they are crispy. They are to. die. for.

And my final suggestion for a great snack, plus coming in as today’s Vegan Food of the Day, is YogaVive Apple Chips! I reviewed them last week and I can not say enough good about them. They are deliciously wonderful snacks to keep on hand and carry with you on the go. And, what do you know… talk about coincidence but I’m giving you the chance to win a month’s supply of these babies! Today is the LAST day to enter the contest though. All you have to do is leave me a comment below! What’s your favorite vegan snack? Even if you aren’t vegan, there’s probably something that you love that happens to be vegan! So share it with me! I’ll be announcing the winners (for there shall be 3!) in the middle of next week. (I know that seems like a long time but I’m currently on VACAY in COLORADO and all my blogs through the end of my trip have been pre-written and scheduled for publishing!) So comment, comment, comment, snack, enjoy, and comment! I want to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

