Everything Flows Onward

finding my dharma. living my dharma.

Ringing in Vegan MoFo with a Giveaway! October 1, 2009

Filed under: fall,recipe,vegan,vegan mofo — Jenny @ 12:01 am
Tags: ,

Happy Vegan MoFo!

Today we begin a month long celebration of all things vegan! I’ll be doing my best to blog every week day this month, sharing with you all recipes, stories, tips, testimonials, etc about the vegan life. Are you vegan? I hope that we can share and learn from each other this month! Oh… you’re not vegan? Well hopefully this month will give you a little idea of what it’s like to be a proud vegan and show you (in case you were wondering) that being vegan is not only easy, but fun and delicious too! It’s the guilt free life and I welcome you to share in my experience! All along, I’ll invite comments on my posts from anyone who has questions about making the switch. What are your biggest concerns? What would make the transition easier for you? I’ll be glad to help in anyway!

My goal for this month is to share a vegan anecdote every weekday, and then to share with you my favorite thing I ate each day. I’m a busy girl and I don’t always have time to cook elaborate meals, so a lot of times, you’re going to see really easy, recipe-less foods and snacks here. I’m a pretty healthy eater, and so I’m happy to be showing everyone in the blogosphere that it’s easy to be a healthy, on-the-go vegan!

But just because I’m busy and don’t always get to spend a good amount of time in my kitchen, doesn’t mean that I don’t like to cook a good meal at least once a week. And that’s where you all, and a giveaway, come in! Share with me in the comments your favorite quick and easy vegan recipe (even if you aren’t vegan!) and you’ll be in the running to win a month’s supply of Yogavive Apple Chips! (Also, make sure to check out my review of these yummy snacks!) I will accept entries until October 8th and then I will, with the help of my kitties Lily and Harry Krishna, randomly select THREE lucky winners to receive the prize! So get to it, readers! I want recipes! What’s your favorite vegan recipe, cheap and easy, that I should make this month? Comment, comment, comment!

And so… in the words of Go Vegan’s Bob Linden: Peace now! Go vegan! Peace, how? Go. Vegan.

Vegan Food of the Day!
Vegan Pumpkin Black Bean Soup has been keeping me happy and satisfied these first days of fall. The air is crisp and chilly and this soup is all I need to warm myself up from the inside out. When I made it, I used probably twice as much curry as the recipe called for, but that’s just my taste. I also used half home-made pumpkin puree and half canned pumpkin puree, and for that reason I used less veggie stock, since the home-made puree was more watery than the canned. My version ended up being pretty thick, almost chili-like, and that’s just how I like my soup to be. This recipe was fast and easy to make and very easy to adjust to my tastes. I highly recommend it! Plus, if you’re like me and you’re cooking for one, this will make you PLENTY and last you several days, which is always a bonus!

 

6 Responses to “Ringing in Vegan MoFo with a Giveaway!”

  1. kittee Says:

    please tell harry krishna, hari bol from me!

    xo
    kittee

  2. jenitreehugger Says:

    SOUP!
    For me, easy healthy meals don’t come any better than that! All types of Soup (I am a Soup addict), but at the moment my favourite is Creamless of Tomato – look out for the blogging of it in the coming weeks.
    Happy Mofo’ing!
    đŸ™‚

  3. Melissa Gray Says:

    This is my favorite vegan recipe ever!

    http://veganvice.blogspot.com/2008/07/bear-sweets.html

  4. a mom Says:

    Think I will try your soup recipe. I can be vegetarian easily but vegan…i am not sure because different meals would have to be made in this house!It is good you took so much time to research the nutrition and do it the right way! I guess I need to do some myself.

  5. Kris Says:

    This is my latest favorite recipe:

    http://nomnomnomblog.com/2009/10/01/ode-to-my-rice-cooker/

    I make it in large batches so it lasts a couple of days and is so satisfying. Just plain quinoa, chickpeas sauteed with a little olive oil and BBQ sauce and roasted Brussels with garlic. Sooooo yummy!

  6. Keep up the great work!.


Leave a Reply

